13 police officers to be recognized for promotions


Mayor Joseph J. Solomon and Colonel Rick J. Rathbun will join the Board of Public Safety and the Warwick Police Department to celebrate the promotion and recognition of 13 police officers tonight at 5:30 p.m. at the Toll Gate High School Auditorium, 575 Centerville Road, Warwick.

The evening will begin with the Warwick Police Honor Guard posting the colors and Major Mark Ullucci offering the welcome greeting.

Retired Warwick Fire Department Captain William Tyler will lead the singing of the National Anthem, followed by speeches from Mayor Solomon and Colonel Rathbun. 

Invocation will be given by Father Robert Marciano, Chaplin of the Warwick Police Department.

The following members of the Warwick Police Department will be promoted and recognized during the ceremony:

Rick J. Rathbun will be recognized for his promotion to Colonel. Mark Ullucci will be promoted to Deputy Chief.

Michael L. Gilbert and Lori A. Michailides will be promoted to the rank of Major. Michael G. Lima and Timothy J. Marshall will be promoted to the rank of Captain. William E. DeFeo, Jr. and Stephanie Giblin will be promoted to the rank of Lieutenant. Christopher R. Lo and Matthew J. Higgins will both be promoted to the rank of Sergeant.

Finally, Brian M. Murray and Joseph G. DeDonato, II will be promoted to Detective during the ceremony and Christian W. Vargas will be recognized for his previous elevation to the same rank.

Mayor Solomon will administer the Oath of Office to all members of the WPD. Once formalities conclude, Father Marciano will offer benediction.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment