Social Enterprise Greenhouse hosts Buy with Heart

Posted

Social Enterprise Greenhouse will host its 2019 Buy with Heart Marketplace on Friday, Dec. 6, at the organization’s headquarters at 10 Davol Square, Providence.

The marketplace, which features unique products and services from local businesses that prioritize their social impact, will run from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. The event is free and open to the public.

“The Buy with Heart Marketplace is a holiday shopping opportunity you can feel good about,” said Kelly Ramirez, CEO of Social Enterprise Greenhouse. “This will be a one-stop shop to buy great products and learn about great services that are all offered by organizations with missions to make our community better and stronger.”

Among the vendors participating in this year’s Buy with Heart Marketplace are:

Equal Exchange (equalexchange.coop), which offers organic and fairly traded packages of coffee, tea, chocolate bars, cocoa, olive oil and snacks.

Giving Beyond the Box (givingbeyondthebox.com), which curates gift boxes with products that make social impact, including Rhode Island’s Little Box of Hope and the Holiday Box of Hope.

Green Tenderfoot (greentenderfoot.com), which advocates for a zero-waste lifestyle through popup refill stations for bath, body, and cleaning products.

Harvest Kitchen (farmfreshri.org/programs/harvest-kitchen), which provides youth trainees with culinary job skills and produces a line of jarred products using surplus produce sourced from local farms.

Impact Everything (impacteverything.org), the nation’s first brick and mortar social enterprise store, located on Thayer Street in Providence. It carries beautiful clothing, jewelry and household goods that all have a vetted social mission.

Jessica Ricci Jewelry (jessicariccijewelry.com), which makes hand-crafted jewelry that, through a partnership with Amos House, employs women working to improve their lives.

Newport Sock Exchange (newportsockexchange.com), which sells unique specialty socks and devotes part of the profits to provide free transportation for local seniors.

Riverzedge Arts (riverzedgearts.org), which provides design services, cards, clothing, and other gift products that are all developed by Woonsocket youth.

Sanctuary Herbs of Providence (sanctuaryherbs.com), which offers delicious teas and other herbal products that employ immigrant and refugee farmers.

Shri Yoga (shriyoga.org), which creates delicious nut-free snacks that help fund more than 100 free classes every month.

The Art of Fate (theartoffate.com), which curates beautiful clothing, accessories and homegoods all created by womxn who are highlighted in this one-of-a-kind online marketplace.

Tomaquag Museum (tomaquagmuseum.org), which offers Native American jewelry, art, and books whose sales go to help eradicate poverty in the Indigenous Community of Rhode Island through education, cultural competency, job training and employment.

As part of the Buy with Heart Marketplace, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Rhode Island will provide a drop-off station for donated goods. Donations of clothing and small household items generates funding for the organization’s local mentoring programs and supports its mission to create and support one-to-one mentoring relationships that ignite the power and promise of youth. Each year Big Brothers Big Sisters provides mentors to over 350 children and keeps over 8 million pounds of clothing and small household items out of the landfill.

Major sponsors of the Buy with Heart Marketplace include SupplyRI and Giving Beyond the Box.

To learn more visit segreenhouse.

org.

Comments

No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment